In the middle of the 1970's, the European physics community initiated a series of international conferences, called the Middle European Cooperation in Statistical Physics (MECO). This initiative very soon spread over Europe in a wider sense, covering not only the middle-European countries.

During the last two decades of the Cold War, the conference series allowed statistical physicists in the East and West to maintain open scientific dialogue and beneficial collaborations across the iron curtain. Since their establishment, the MECO conferences became one of the most prestigious forums in statistical physics and related disciplines. In more recent times, due to interdisciplinary applications, MECO attracts the attention of a much wider academic community.

International advisory board

B. Berche (Nancy), K. Binder (Mainz), A. Cuccoli (Firenze), C. Di Castro (Roma), R. Folk (Linz), M. Henkel (Nancy), F. Iglói (Budapest), W. Janke (Leipzig), G. Meissner (Saarbrücken), H. Rieger (Saarbrücken), A. Surda (Bratislava), J. Sznajd (Wroclaw), S. Trimper (Halle), K. Uzelac (Zagreb)

Local organizing committee

V. Blavatska, M. Druchok, M. Dudka, Yu. Holovatch, V. Ignatyuk, A. Kapikranian, I. Klevets, P. Kostrobij, M. Maksymenko, B. Markiv, O. Matveev, I. Mryglod, O. Mryglod, M. Patsahan, T. Patsahan, V. Palchykov

Previous MECO conferences

2010 Pont-á-Mousson (F) website 1990 Balatonfüred (H)
2009 Leipzig (D) website 1989 Siena (I)
2008 Puchberg/Wels (A) website 1988 Karpacz (PL)
2007 Ladek Zdrój (PL) website 1987 Poidoux-Chexbres (CH)
2006 Primosten (CR) 1986 Liblice (CS)
2005 Cortona (I) website 1985 Aussois (F)
2004 Bratislava (SK) 1984 Gernrode (D)
2003 Saarbrücken (D) 1983 Bled (Y)
2002 Sopron (H) 1982 Wien (A)
2001 Prague (CZ) 1981 Saarbrücken (D)
2000 Pont-á-Mousson (F) 1980 Budapest (H)
1999 Lutherstadt-Wittenberg (D) 1979 Trieste (I)
1998 Trieste (I) 1978 Boszkowo (PL)
1997 Szklarska Poreba (PL) 1977 Unterägeri (CH)
1996 Bled (SL) 1976 Bled (Y)
1995 Puchberg/Wels (A) 1975 Regensburg (D)
1994 Smolenice (SK) 1974 Wien (A)
1991 Duisburg (D)